OSU Libraries | OSU Home

Award-winning authors

September 18, 2015

Here at OSU Press, we know our authors work hard to contribute to their respective fields. But it’s always rewarding when others recognize their talents and dedication, as well! Last month saw two OSU Press authors honored with distinguished accolades.


Sharman Apt Russell received the 2015 Willa Literacy Award for Creative Nonfiction. Her CitizenSciencebook, Diary of a Citizen Scientist, was not only well received by readers, but also prized by colleagues who value the burgeoning field of citizen science. Using her own experience tracking tiger beetles as a guideline, Russell crafts a humorous, wondrous picture of our natural world. She applauds the opportunities of citizen science and encourages others to explore their own self-driven scientific inquiries.


The WILLA Awards are presented by Women Writing the West, an association of writers whose work focuses on the experiences of women and girls living in the American West. The group created the award to honor former Pulitzer Prize winner Willa Cather and recognizes outstanding literature that echoes the organization’s mission. Russell will receive her award October 9 at WWW’s annual conference in Redmond, Oregon.


Russell wasn’t the only Press author to receive acclaim, however.  Justin Wadland’s book TryingHomeTrying Home has been announced a finalist in the history / general nonfiction category of the Washington State Book Awards.  A unique combination of personal reflection and historical research, Trying Home follows the climb and plummet of Home, Washington: an anarchist colony of the early twentieth century. It was a utopian community quite unlike any other and the outside world soon took notice. Wadland’s engaging prose has the power to captivate scholars and general readers alike.


The Washington State Book Awards, administered by the Seattle Public Library, recognize outstanding books published in the past year by authors hailing from the northern state. Wadland and his fellow nominees will be honored October 10 at the Washington State Book Awards Celebration at the Central Library. A single winner from each category will be announced at that time.


For more information on the aforementioned authors and their work, please visit their personal pages:


Sharman Apt Russell



Justin Wadland

Member of AAUP