OSU Libraries | OSU Home

OSU Press Authors Receive WILLA Awards

October 19, 2011

Congratulations to OSU Press authors Evelyn Searle Hess and Kimberley Mangun, 2011 WILLA Award Winners!

To the Woods book cover A Force for Change book cover In To the Woods: Sinking Roots, Living Lightly, and Finding True Home—the winner of the Creative Nonfiction Award—Hess tells the story of building a new life on twenty acres of wild land in the foothills of Oregon's coast range.

A Force for Change: Beatrice Morrow Cannady and the Struggle for Civil Rights in Oregon, 1912–1936, the Scholarly Nonfiction Award winner, illuminates the life and work of one of Oregon's most dynamic civil rights leaders.

The WILLA Literary Awards, named in honor of Pulitzer Prize winner Willa Cather, are awarded annually for outstanding literature featuring women's stories set in the West. They are selected by a distinguished panel of professional librarians.

Member of AAUP